Leave your Feedback

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


Tripura merged into the Indian Union on 15th Oct 1949 and became a centrally administered territory. In 1972 it attained the status of full statehood. It is one of the strategically important state as most of its territory is surrounded by Myanmar and Bangladesh. Tripura has an area of 10,492 sq km and population of 3,199,203. It has two parliamentary seats in the Lok Sabha. The principal languages of the state are Bengali and Kokborak.

Capital:  Agartala

No of Parliamentary Constituencies: 2

No of Assembly Constituencies: 60


Tripura State Assembly Election Results 2008


Parliamentary Constituencies

S. No. Constituency Name
1 Tripura East
2 Tripura West

Constituency Map


Translate this page
Share Indian-ElectionAffairs.com   Bookmark and Share





Results General Election 2009

State : Tripura

Name of the Party Seats Contested Seats Won
National Parties
BJP 2 0
CPI(M) 2 2
INC 2 0
NCP 1 0
Total National Parties 7 2
State Parties- None
Unrecognized Parties 6 0
IND 6 0
Total 19 2


State Assembly Elections 2008
CPM 56 46 51.21
INC 48 10 44.38
RSP 2 2 52.58
CPI 2 1 48.65
inpt 11 1 38.23
OTHERS** 196 0  
TOTAL 313 60  

* Percentage of votes for the AC

**Others consist of Independents and all other parties who contested in the elections



Chief Minister

Mr. Manik Sarkar

Govt. of Tripura
State Chief Electoral Officer


Connect with us



Elections News | General Elections 2009 Schedule | State Assembly Elections Schedule |General Election Results | Constituency-wise Results 2004 |Indian Electoral Process | Elections FAQ |Lok Sabha Elections 2009 | Indian Parliamentary System | Political Parties |India Votes | Candidates List

Disclaimer|Terms of Use | All rights reserved electionaffairs.com| Feedback