Leave your Feedback

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player


After the Indian independence, the new united Mysore State was created in 1956, and was renamed as Karnataka in 1973. Karnatka is one the important states of the Indian Union. Along with being an IT hub and centre of Industrial development this state has produced some great politicians. Population of the state is 52,850,562 and territorial region is 1.91,791 sq km. It has a  coastal line of nearly 400 km. Principal language of the Karnataka state is Kannada. It has 28 parliamentary constituencies.

Update : Mr. D. V. Sadananda Gowda was sworn in as the Chief Minister of Karnataka on 4 August 2011 after being selected as legislative party leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party Karnataka. This followed the resignation of the previous Chief Minister B. S. Yeddyurappa after being indicted on corruption charges by the Lok Ayukta of Karnataka,


Capital:  Bangalore

No of Parliamentary Constituencies: 28

No of Assembly Constituencies: 224

20/3/2013 Election commission announced that the Karnataka will go for a single-phase state assembly elections on May 5th and counting of votes will take place on May 8th 2013.

The notification for the election is expected to be issued on April 10. The last date of filing nominations would be April 14 and scrutiny of nominations papers would take place on April 18, the last date for withdrawal of candidates would be April 20th. The entire election process is expected to be completed by May 11th.

Karnataka has 224 assembly constituencies with 36 of them reserved for the Scheduled Castes and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes. Total electors in the state are 4,18,75,267.


Results Karnataka Elections 2013
Candidates List Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013
Exit Poll/Opinion Poll Results Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013

Karnataka State Assmbly Election Results 2008

Results Karnataka Assembly Elections 2008: Patywise Tally
Schedule Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013




Parliamentary Constituencies

S. No. Constituency Name


2 Belgaum
3 Bagalkot
4 Bijapur
5 Gulbarga
6 Raichur
7 Bidar
8 Koppal
9 Bellary
10 Haveri
11 Dharwad
12 Uttara Kannada
13 Davanagere
14 Shimoga
15 Udupi Chikamagalur
16 Hassan
17 Dakshina Kannada
18 Chitradurga
19 Tumkur
20 Mandya
21 Mysore
22 Chamarajanagar
23 Bangalore Rural
24 Bangalore North
25 Bangalore Central
26 Bangalore South
27 Chikkballapur
28 Kolar

Constituency Map


Translate this page
Share Indian-ElectionAffairs.com   Bookmark and Share





Results of General Elections

State Assembly Elections 2008
BJP 224 110
INC 222 80
JD(S) 219 28
Others** 634 0
IND 943 6
OTHERS** 2242 224

* Percentage of votes for the AC

**Others consist of all other parties
who contested in the elections


Chief Minister

K. Siddaramaiah

State Government
State Chief Electoral Officer


Connect with us



Elections News | General Elections 2009 Schedule | State Assembly Elections Schedule |General Election Results | Constituency-wise Results 2004 |Indian Electoral Process | Elections FAQ |Lok Sabha Elections 2009 | Indian Parliamentary System | Political Parties |India Votes | Candidates List

Disclaimer|Terms of Use | All rights reserved electionaffairs.com| Feedback