Leave your Feedback

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Indian parliamentary system

Indian constitution, which came into affect from 26th Jan 1952 provides for a Parliamentary form of government which is federal in structure with certain unitary features. The constitutional head of the Executive of the Indian Union is the President.  Parliament is the supreme legislative body of India. It comprises of the President and the two houses; Lok Sabha (Lower House) and Rajya Sabha (Upper House) also known as House of people and council of states respectively.  The first general elections under the Indian Constitution were held during the year 1951-52 and the first elected Parliament came into being in April, 1952.


Lok Sabha

As the name suggests, Lok Sabha is a body of the representative of the people of India. According to article 81 of Indian Constitution, Lok Sabha can have up to 552 member. Of which 530 represent Indian state, up to 20 are elected from the Union territories and 2 members can be nominated by the President of India. At present the strength of house is 545. 

It has a term of 5 years. The representatives from States and Union territories are directly elected by the people on the basis of universal adult suffrage. Every citizen who is over 18 years of age, irrespective of gender, caste, religion or race, who is otherwise not disqualified, is eligible to vote.

Speaker is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha. He is elected amongst the members of the Lok Sabha in the first meeting of the Lok Sabha after general elections for a term of 5 years and Deputy Speaker is the vice-presiding officer of the Lok Sabha.


Rajya Sabha

Rajya Sabha is also known as Council of states or the upper House of the parliament. Its members are indirectly elected by members of legislative bodies of the States. The Rajya Sabha can have a maximum of 250 members.  Out of which 238 members represents the States and Union Territories, and 12 members are nominated by the President.  Each member serves a term of six years. Rajya Sabha is a permanent body. Lok Sabha can be dissolved but Rajya Sabha can not be. One third of its member retire every second year and replaced by the newly elected members.

Chairman (ex-officio) of the Rajya Sabha is the Vice President of India and the deputy chairman is elected among its members.









Translate this page
Share Indian-ElectionAffairs.com   Bookmark and Share



Results of General Elections
Mr. Pranab Mukherjee
Prime Minister
Mr.Narendra Modi
Lok sabha Speaker
Mrs. Sumitra Mahajan
Chairman of Rajya Sabha
Mr. Mohammad Hamid Ansari
Connect with us



Disclaimer | Terms of Use | All rights reserved electionaffairs.com | Feedback